Language Switcher

Penal Code (1861)

The Penal Code of Myanmar dates from the period of British rule. It contains 23 Chapters and 511 Articles.

The Chapters cover the following:

  1. Introduction
  2. General Explanations
  3. Punishments
  4. General Exceptions
  5. Abetment
  6. Offences against the State
  7. Offences relating to the Army, Navy and Air Force
  8. Offences against Public Tranquility
  9. Offences by or relating to Public Servants
  10. Contempts of the Lawful Authority of Public Servants
  11. False Evidence and Offences against Public Justice
  12. Offences relating to Coin and Government Stamps
  13. Offences relating to Weights and Measures
  14. Offences affecting the Public Health, Safety, Convenience, Decency and Morals
  15. Offences relating to Religion
  16. Offences affecting the Human Body
  17. Offences against Property
  18. Offences relating to Document to Trade or Property Marks
  19. Criminal Breach of Contract of Service
  20. Offences relating to Marriage
  21. Defamation
  22. Criminal Intimidation, Insult and Annoyance
  23. Attempts to Commit Offences

Myanmar-Penal Code-1861-eng (full text in English, PDF)

Comments are closed.