The Executive Committee

The current members of the Executive Committee are as follows:

Justice Azhar Cachalia – South Africa
Azhar Cachalia is currently serving his third term as a Commissioner, having been elected in 2011, and he was elected to the Executive Committee in 2012 (he is now the Chair). He is currently a Judge of the Supreme Court of Appeal of South Africa. Before this he served as Judge of the South African High Court from 2001 – 2005. In 1983 he was a founding member of the United Democratic Front (a coalition of anti-apartheid organizations in South Africa) and has worked with numerous community organizations throughout his life. Between 1977-1989 he was detained and banned on several occasions for his anti-apartheid activity. From 1996-1999 he served in Government as Secretary for Safety and Security. In 1999 he returned to legal practice.


Ms Roberta Clarke
Ms Roberta Clarke – Barbados/Canada
Ms Roberta Clarke, from Barbados and Canada, is serving her first term as ICJ Commissioner having been elected in December 2016. She was elected to the Executive Committee in 2018. Ms Clarke has an extensive background in working on human rights issues, particularly in relation to women’s rights and social and economic rights. Ms Clarke has held a number of Academic roles including Research Assistant, Junior Research Fellow, Assistant Lecturer and now Visiting Fellow at the University of West Indies. Ms Clarke has also worked as an Attorney in private practice and in a number of civil society and intergovernmental organization roles including as the Project Coordinator of the Women and the Law Project with the Caribbean Association for Feminist Research and Action in Trinidad and Tobago, Social Affairs Officer on the Gender and Development Programme for the UN Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean, Regional Programme Director for UNIFEM/UN Women’s Caribbean Office and then for UN Women’s Regional Office for Asia and the Pacific.


Hina Jilani
Ms Hina Jilani – Pakistan
Hina Jilani is serving her second term on the Executive Committee. She is a human rights activist and an advocate of the Supreme Court of Pakistan. With her sister Asma Jahangir, in 1980 she co-founded Pakistan’s first all-female legal aid practice, AGHS Legal Aid Cell (ALAC), in Lahore. Initially the activities focused on providing legal aid to women, but gradually they began to provide legal awareness training, protection from exploitation, legal research, counselling and legal assistance. She is one of the founders of the Human Rights Commission of Pakistan and the Women’s Action Forum (WAF), a pressure group established in 1980 campaigning against Pakistan’s discriminatory legislation. In 1986, Jilani founded Pakistan’s first legal aid centre and, in 1991, a shelter for women fleeing violence and abuse (Dastak). Her work has primarily focused on the human rights of women, children, minorities, bonded and child labour, political and other prisoners. Jilani’s work for the protection of child labourers engaged in hazardous work is widely credited to have led to the Pakistani government to pass legislation in 1991 to regulate the employment of children. Jilani is affiliated with the United Nations Centre for Human Rights, the Carter Center, and the UN Conference on Women. From 2000 to 2008, she served as the United Nations Special Representative of the Secretary-General on Human Rights Defenders. In 2006, she was appointed to the UN International Fact-Finding Commission on Darfur, Sudan. She was also a member of the ICJ’s Eminent Jurists Panel on Terrorism, Counter-terrorism and Human Rights. In 2009, she was appointed to the United Nations Fact Finding Mission on the Gaza Conflict. She is also a patron of the Media Legal Defence Initiative.


Justice Sanji Monageng – Botswana
Sanji Monageng Sanji Monageng is currently serving her second term as Commissioner, she was elected in 2008 and then re-elected in 2013. She was elected to the Executive Committee in 2018. She has been a Commissioner and Chairperson of the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights, founder Chief Executive of the Law Society of Botswana, Magistrate in Botswana and Judge of the High Court in The Gambia and The Kingdom of Swaziland. She is presently a Judge of the International Criminal Court and was its First Vice-President between 2012 and 2015.


Belisário dos Santos Júnior
Mr Belisário dos Santos Júnior – Brazil
Belisário dos Santos is serving his first term on the Executive Committee. He was elected to the Commission in 2008 and re-elected in 2013. He is currently a practicing lawyer in Brazil. From 1995 until 2000 he served as Sao Paulo’s Secretary of State of Justice and Defence of Citizenship. He is highly respected for improving the human rights situation in San Paulo, Brazil, during this term. He has previously served as Legal Adviser to the Institute of Social Security of the State of Sao Paulo and is former President of the Latin American Lawyers Association for the Defence of Human Rights.