Attacks on Justice 2002: Turkey

The 1982 Constitution establishes Turkey as a republic with a parliamentary form of government. According to Article 2, Turkey is a democratic, secular and social State governed by the rule of law.

The President is the head-of-State and shares executive powers with the Council of Ministers, consisting of the Prime Minister and other ministers. The President is elected by the Grand National Assembly (GNA) for seven years and may not be re-elected. National elections are held every five years through a system of proportional representation. The GNA consists of 550 members and carries out legislative functions.

Turkey-attacks on justice 2002-publications-2002 (full text, PDF)


Attacks on Justice 2002Publications