

## INTERNATIONAL COMMISSION OF JURISTS

Commission internationale de juristes - Comisión Internacional de Juristas

" dedicated since 1952 to the primacy, coherence and implementation of international law and principles that advance human rights "

12 December 2003

President Justice Arthur CHASKALSON, South Africa

Vice-President Lord William GOODHART, United Kingdom

Executive Committee Dr. Rajeev DHAVAN, India Justice John DOWD, Australia (Chairperson) Prof. Jochen A. FROWEIN, Germany Ms Gladys Veronica LI, Hong Kong Dr. Hipolito SOLARI YRIGOYEN, Argentina Prof. Yozo YOKOTA, Japan

Other Commission Members Prof. Abdullahi AN-NA'IM, Sudan Dr. Alejandro ARTUCIO RODRIGUEZ, Uruguay Justice Solomy BALUNGI BOSSA, Uganda Ambassador Julio BARBOZA, Argentina Justice Ian BINNIE, Canada Prof. Alexander BRÖSTL, Slovakia Prof. Juan Antonio CARRILLO SALCEDO, Spain Prof. Antonio CASSESE, Italy Ms Christine CHANET, France Lord COOKE OF THORNDON, New Zealand Dato' Param CUMARASWAMY, Malaysia Dr. Dalmo DE ABREU DALLARI, Brazil Prof. Vojin DIMITRIJEVIC, Serbia and Montenegro Ms Louise DOSWALD-BECK, Switzerland Ms Vera DUARTE, Cape-Verde Prof. Paula ESCARAMEIA, Portugal Ms Elisabeth EVATT, Australia Dr. Gustavo GALLÓN GIRALDO, Colombia Mr Stellan GÄRDE, Sweden Prof. Ruth GAVISON, Israel Prof. Jenny E. GOLDSCHMIDT, Netherlands Ms Asma IAHANGIR, Pakistan Ms Asma KHADER, Jordan Prof. David KRETZMER, Israel Prof. Kazimierz Maria LANKOSZ, Poland Prof. Ewa LETOWSKA, Poland Mr Kathurima M'INOTI, Kenya Ms Karinna MOSKALENKO, Russia Dr. Adnan B. NASUTION, Indonesia Dr. Pedro NIKKEN, Venezuela Prof. Manfred NOWAK, Austria Dr. Margarita RETUERTO BUADES, Spain Prof. Andrei RICHTER, Russia Justice Michèle RIVET, Canada Sir Nigel RODLEY, United Kingdom Mr A.K.M. SADEQUE, Bangladesh Mr Claes SANDGREN, Sweden Mr Jerome SHESTACK, U.S.A. Prof. Anne-Marie SLAUGHTER, U.S.A. Mr Raji SOURANI, Palestine Prof. Daniel THÜRER, Switzerland Prof. U. Oji UMOZURIKE, Nigeria Prof. Vilenas VADAPALAS, Lithuania Prof. Theo VAN BOVEN, Netherlands Dr. José ZALAQUETT, Chile

Mr. Yuri Tchaika Minister of Justice Vorontsovo Pole 109830 Moscow Russian Federation

Fax: +7 095 916 2903

## Dear Sir,

The International Commission of Jurists (ICJ) consists of jurists who represent all the regions and legal systems in the world working to uphold the rule of law and the legal protection of human rights. The ICJ's Centre for the Independence of Judges and Lawyers (CIJL) is dedicated to promoting the independence of judges and lawyers throughout the world.

We are writing to you regarding the trial of Mr. Mikhail Ivanovich Trepashkin at the Moscow District Military Court, which will start on 15 December. Mr. Trepashkin is accused of having committed the following crimes: Disclosure of State Secrets (Article 293 of the Criminal Code), Misuse of Official Capacity (Article 285) and Possession of unlicensed weapons (Article 222.1).

As you are aware, on 11 November we wrote to your Government expressing our concern at the arrest and detention of Mr. Trepashkin, which was based on evidence planted by the same officers who later arrested him. In that letter, we urged your Government to release Mr. Trepashkin and to desist from persecuting this lawyer.

One of the main activities of the CIJL is to monitor trials in which lawyers or judges are targeted. In particular, the observer evaluates whether the proceedings comply with international fair trial standards. Upon completion of the trial, the CIJL publishes a report of its findings, which it sends to Government authorities, the Court and the defendants.

In the framework of this activity, we would like to request your permission for an ICJ/CIJL trial observer to monitor the proceedings against Mr. Trepashkin on 15 December. We would also be grateful to

the Government and authorities of the Russian Federation for all facilities and usual courtesies which may be extended to the ICJ/CIJL observer for the accomplishment of the mission.

Please receive the assurances of my highest consideration.

Ernst Lueber Acting Secretary-General

Cc: HE Mr. Leonid Skotnikov

Permanent Mission of the Russian Federation to the UN Office in Geneva Avenue de la Paix 15 1211 Geneva 20

Fax: 022 734 4044

Lt. Colonel Sergei Sedov Moskovsky Okruzhnoy Voenny Sud (Moscow District Military Court) Stary Arbat 37, Moskva 121002 Russian Federation