

INTERNATIONAL COMMISSION OF JURISTS

Commission internationale de juristes - Comisión Internacional de Juristas

" dedicated since 1952 to the primacy, coherence and implementation of international law and principles that advance human rights"

14 January 2004

President
Justice Arthur CHASKALSON, South Africa

Vice-President Lord William GOODHART, United Kingdom

Executive Committee
Dr. Rajeev DHAVAN, India
Justice John DOWD, Australia (Chairperson)
Prof. Jochen A. FROWEIN, Germany
Ms Gladys Veronica LI, Hong Kong
Dr. Hipolito SOLARI YRIGOYEN, Argentina
Prof. Yozo YOKOTA, Japan

Other Commission Members Prof. Abdullahi AN-NA'IM. Sudan Dr. Alejandro ARTUCIO RODRIGUEZ, Uruguay Justice Solomy BALUNGI BOSSA, Uganda Ambassador Julio BARBOZA, Argentina Justice Ian BINNIE, Canada Prof. Alexander BRÖSTL, Slovakia Prof. Juan Antonio CARRILLO SALCEDO, Spain Prof. Antonio CASSESE, Italy Ms Christine CHANET, France Lord COOKE OF THORNDON, New Zealand Dato' Param CUMARASWAMY, Malaysia Dr. Dalmo DE ABREU DALLARI, Brazil Prof. Vojin DIMITRIJEVIC, Serbia and Montenegro Ms Louise DOSWALD-BECK, Switzerland Ms Vera DUARTE, Cape-Verde Prof. Paula ESCARAMEIA, Portugal Ms Elisabeth EVATT, Australia Dr. Gustavo GALLÓN GIRALDO, Colombia Mr Stellan GÄRDE, Sweden Prof. Ruth GAVISON, Israel Prof. Jenny E. GOLDSCHMIDT, Netherlands Ms Asma JAHANGIR, Pakistan Ms Asma KHADER, Jordan Prof. David KRETZMER, Israel Prof. Kazimierz Maria LANKOSZ, Poland Prof. Ewa LETOWSKA, Poland Mr Kathurima M'INOTI, Kenya Ms Karinna MOSKALENKO, Russia Dr. Adnan B. NASUTION, Indonesia Dr. Pedro NIKKEN, Venezuela Prof. Manfred NOWAK, Austria Dr. Margarita RETUERTO BUADES, Spain Prof. Andrei RICHTER, Russia Justice Michèle RIVET, Canada Sir Nigel RODLEY, United Kingdom Mr A.K.M. SADEQUE, Bangladesh Mr Claes SANDGREN, Sweden Mr Jerome SHESTACK, U.S.A. Prof. Anne-Marie SLAUGHTER, U.S.A. Mr Raji SOURANI, Palestine Prof. Daniel THÜRER, Switzerland Prof. U. Oji UMOZURIKE, Nigeria Prof. Vilenas VADAPALAS, Lithuania Prof. Theo VAN BOVEN, Netherlands

Dr. José ZALAQUETT, Chile

Mr. Cemil Cicek Minister of Justice Ministry of Justice Adalet Bakanal - 2 06659 Ankara, Turkey

Fax: + 90 312 418 5667

Re: Re-trial of Leyla Zana and three other Kurdish former Parliamentarians at Ankara State Security Court

Dear Sir,

As you know, the Centre for the Independence of Judges and Lawyers (CIJL) of the International Commission of Jurists (ICJ) is closely monitoring the re-trial of Leyla Zana and three other Kurdish former Parliamentarians before the Ankara State Security Court. The ICJ/CIJL observed the hearings that took place on 23 May, 20 June, 18 July, 15 August, and 15!September, 17 October 2003 and sent you its reports of these hearings.

We also observed the latest hearing which took place on **21 November 2003**. Accordingly, please find attached a report of this hearing.

As pointed out in previous reports that we sent you, the ICJ/CIJL is concerned at the numerous violations of article 6 of the European Convention on Human Rights (ECHR), such as the violation of the principles of the *equality of arms*, the *independence and impartiality of the tribunal* and the *presumption of innocence*.

Moreover, the ICJ/CIJL remains concerned by the repeated delays encountered during the course of the re-trial and the fact that the Court will not reach a verdict within a reasonable time. The ICJ/CIJL considers that the periods of inactivity in the trial, which is proceeding at the rate of one hearing a month, are unacceptable and therefore, that the obligation to proceed expeditiously has been violated, particularly given the fact that defendants have been in detention since 1994 despite repeated applications by defence counsel for their release.

The ICJ/CIJL is thus extremely concerned that the continued detention of the defendants constitutes a violation of their *right to liberty and security* pursuant to article 5 of the ECHR.

We strongly urge your Government to ensure that the defects in the re-trial of Leyla Zana and three other defendants are remedied and that the defendants' rights to a fair trial and to liberty and security are protected, pursuant to Turkey's international obligations.

Please accept the assurances of my highest consideration.

Yours sincerely,

Ernst Lueber Acting Secretary-General

cc: H.E. Ambassador Türkekul Kurttekin Permanent Mission of Turkey to the United Nations Chemin du Petit-Saconnex 28b Case Postale 271 1211 Genève 19

022 734 08 59

cc: Mr.Abullah Gul Minister of Foreign Affairs Foreign Ministry Balgat 06520 Ankara, Turkey

+ 90 312 287 8811

cc: Mr. Ertugrul Yalcinbayir State Minister for Human Rights Office of the Prime Minister Baöbakanl2K 06573 Ankara, Turkey

+ 90 312 417 04 76

cc: Mr. Mehmet Elkalmifh President of the Parliamentary Human Rights Commission Insan Haklari Inceleme Komisyonu Baskani Türkiye Büyüuk Millet Meclisi Ankara, Turkey

+ 90 312 420 5394

Mr. Brlent Arinc Head of Parliament Turkish Grand National Assembly Bakanlialar 06543 Ankara, Turkey

+ 90 312 420 5165