

## INTERNATIONAL COMMISSION OF JURISTS

Commission internationale de juristes - Comisión Internacional de Juristas

" dedicated since 1952 to the primacy, coherence and implementation of international law and principles that advance human rights"

## PRESS RELEASE

President Prof. Pedro NIKKEN, Venezuela

Vice-President Justice John DOWD, Australia

Executive Committee
Dr. Rajeev DHAVAN, India
Prof. Vojin DIMITRIJEVIC, Serbia
Justice Unity DOW, Botswana
Prof. Robert GOLDMAN, United States
Prof. Jenny E. GOLDSCHMIDT, Netherlands
Ms Karinna MOSKALENKO, Russia
Justice Michèle RIVET, Canada
Mr Raji SOURANI, Palestine

Other Commission Members Mr Muhannad AL-HASANI, Syria Mr Ghanim ALNAJJAR, Kuwait Mr Raja AZIZ ADDRUSE, Malaysia Prof. Abdullahi AN-NA'IM, Sudan Justice Solomy BALUNGI BOSSA, Uganda Mr Abdelaziz BENZAKOUR, Morocco Justice Ian BINNIE, Canada Prof. Alexander BRÖSTL, Slovakia Justice Azhar CACHALIA, South Africa Justice Moses CHINHENGO, Zimbabwe Prof. Santiago CORCUERA, Mexico Prof. Louise DOSWALD-BECK, Switzerland Justice Hisham EL BASTAWISSI, Egypt Justice Elisabeth EVATT Australia Prof. Jochen FROWEIN, Germany Dr. Gustavo GALLÓN GIRALDO, Colombia Mr Stellan GÄRDE, Sweden Mr Roberto GARRETÓN, Chile Prof. Michelo HANSUNGULE, Zambia Ms Sara HOSSAIN, Bangladesh Ms Gulnora ISHANKANOVA, Uzbekistan Ms Asma JAHANGIR, Pakistan Ms Imrana IALAL, Fiii Justice Kalthoum KENNOU, Tunisia Prof. David KRETZMER, Israel Prof. Kazimierz Maria LANKOSZ, Poland Justice Ketil LUND, Norway Justice José Antonio MARTÍN PALLÍN, Spain Justice Charles MKANDAWIRE, Malawi Mr Kathurima M'INOTI, Kenya Justice Sanji MONAGENG, Botswana Prof. Julia MOTOC, Romania Prof. Vitit MUNTARBHORN, Thailand Dr. Jorge Eduardo PAN CRUZ, Uruguay Prof. Mónica PINTO, Argentina Prof. Andrei RICHTER, Russia Prof. Sir Nigel RODLEY, United Kingdom Prof. Claes SANDGREN, Sweden Mr Belisario dos SANTOS JUNIOR, Brazil Justice Philippe TEXIER, France Prof. U. Oii UMOZURIKE, Nigeria Justice Vilenas VADAPALAS, Lithuania Prof. Yozo YOKOTA, Japan Justice E. Raúl ZAFFARONI, Argentina Prof. Leila ZERROUGUI, Algeria



The ICJ is pleased to announce that the 2011 winner of the Martin Ennals award is Kasha Jacqueline Nabagesera.

Kasha Jacqueline is a co-founder and Executive Director of Freedom and Roam Uganda, an LGBT rights organization in Uganda. Kasha is a bold and courageous human rights defender. She regularly appears on television and radio programs in Uganda and is outspoken in her defense of human rights. Kasha has been at the forefront of the civil society campaign against the Anti-Homosexuality Bill, which would impose the death penalty for certain acts of "aggravated homosexuality" and also criminalizes freedom of expression and association concerning promotion Kasha was one of the three petitioners in the case of homosexuality. against Rolling Stone, a Ugandan newspaper that had published photographs and addresses of "Uganda's Top Homos" and urged readers to "hang them." In January 2011, the High Court of Uganda at Kampala found that the newspaper had violated the petitioners' rights to respect for human dignity and privacy and issued an injunction.

The ICJ has tremendous respect for Kasha and her colleagues and will continue to work with and support them in their efforts against injustice.

The Chairman of the Jury of the MEA, Hans Thoolen, describes the laureate as "an exceptional woman of a rare courage, fighting under death threat for human dignity and the rights of homosexuals and marginalised people in Africa."

**The Ceremony** of the Martin Ennals Award will take place in the Victoria Hall of Geneva later this year.

The main award of the human rights movement. The Martin Ennals Award for Human Rights Defenders (MEA) is a unique collaboration among ten of the world's leading human rights organizations to give **protection** to human rights defenders worldwide. The **Jury** is composed of the following NGOs: Amnesty International, Human Rights Watch, Human Rights First, International Federation for Human Rights, World Organisation Against Torture, Front Line, International Commission of Jurists, German Diakonie, International Service for Human Rights and HURIDOCS.

Previous laureates: Muhannad Al-Hassani, Syria (2010), Emad Baghi, Iran; Mutabar Tadjibaeva, Uzbekistan; Pierre Claver Mbonimpa, Burundi and Rajan Hoole-Kopalasingham Sritharan, Sri Lanka; Akbar Ganji, Iran and Arnold Tsunga, Zimbabwe; Aktham Naisse, Syria; Lida Yusupova, Russia; Alirio Uribe Muñoz, Colombia; Jacqueline Moudeina, Chad; Peace Brigades International; Immaculée Birhaheka, DR Congo; Natasha Kandic, Yugoslavia; Eyad El Sarraj, Palestine; Samuel Ruiz, Mexico; Clement Nwankwo, Nigeria; Asma Jahangir, Pakistan; Harry Wu, China.

For downloadable **film images** on the Laureate of 2011, please go to <a href="http://vimeo.com/23160035">http://vimeo.com/23160035</a> the Vimeo account of True Heroes with a password: **MEA\_KASHA\_2011**.

**Patrons** of the Martin Ennals Award: Asma Jahangir, Barbara Hendricks, José Ramos-Horta, Adama Dieng, Leandro Despouy, Louise Arbour, Robert Fulghum, Irene Khan, Theo van Boven and Werner Lottje†.