The 2004 Martin Ennals Award for Human Rights Defenders

The ICJ is please to announce the launch of the 2004 Martin Ennals Award. As a member of the jury for the Award, the ICJ supports the Martin Ennals Foundation’s call for nominations for the 2004 Award. The Award is granted annually to an individual, or exceptionally an organisation, in recognition of their commitment and ongoing endeavour in the defence and promotion of human rights.

Nominees must currently be involved in work for the promotion and protection of human rights. Special account is taken of those who have demonstrated an active record of combating human rights violations by courageous and innovative means. The MEA aims to encourage individuals or organisations, particularly those who are working in conditions hostile to fundamental human rights and who are in need of protection.

The Award, valued at 20’000 Swiss Francs (Euro 14.000), must be used for further work in the field of human rights. The 2004 award ceremony will be broadcast live on Swiss Television as a Zig Zag Café Special and re-transmitted worldwide via TV5 in April.

Past recipients are: 2003: Alirio Uribe Muñoz (Colombia), 2002: Jacqueline Moudeina (Chad), 2001: Peace Brigades International, 2000: Immaculée Birhaheka (Democratic Republic of Congo), 1999: Ms. Natasha Kandic (Yugoslavia), 1998: Dr. Eyad Rajab El Sarraj (Palestine), 1997: Msg. Samuel Ruiz Garcia (Mexico), 1996: Clement Nwankwo (Nigeria), 1995: Asma Jahangir (Pakistan), 1994: Harry Wu (China).

Martin Ennals (1927-1991) was instrumental to the modern human rights movement. A fiercely devoted activist, he creatively pursued ideas ahead of his time and was the driving force behind other organisations. His deep desire was to see more cooperation among NGOs.

The deadline for nominations is 1 October 2003. Visit the Martin Ennals Award website for more information and the MEA application form.