Emergency decree in Bankok and 18 Thai Provinces must be revoked immediately

The ICJ welcomes the Royal Thai Government’s decision to revoke the state of emergency in five provinces but calls for more.

While the ICJ understands that Thailand currently faces complex security challenges, the ICJ calls upon Prime Minister Abhisit Vejjajiva and the Royal Thai Government to revoke immediately the declaration of the State of Emergency in Bangkok and in the 18 other provinces where it has been in place since May 2010.

On 6 July 2010, the Prime Minister of Thailand, with the approval of Cabinet, declared the extension of a Severe State of Emergency in the areas of Bangkok, Nonthaburi, Samut Prakan, Pathumthani, Ayutthaya, Conburi, Chiangmai, Chiangrai, Lampang, Kon-Kaen, Udon Thani, Chaiphum, Nakornrajsrima, Ubonrajthani, Nhongbualampoo, Mahasarakram, Roied, Sakonnakorn and Mukdaharn Provinces. The Severe State of Emergency was lifted in Kalasin, Nakhon Prathom, Nakhon Sawan, Nan and Si Sa Ket Provinces.

Thailand-emergency decree revoked-press release-2010 (full text in English, PDF)

Thailand-emergency decree revoked-press release-2010 (full text in Thai, PDF)

NewsPress releases