Five new Commissioners join the ICJ

The ICJ is delighted to announce five new Commissioners: Professor Kyong-Wahn Ahn (Republic of Korea), Justice Adolfo Azcuna (Philippines), Professor Miguel Carbonell (Mexico), Justice Yvonne Mokgoro (South Africa) and Justice Ajit Parkash Shah (India).

The new Commissioners were elected by existing Commissioners by a ballot, which took place during June and July 2014.

Professor Kyong-Wahn Ahn (Republic of Korea) is currently a professor emeritus at the Seoul National University Law School. Since 2013 he has been the President of Gong-gam a non-profit human rights legal foundation in Korea.

Justice Adolfo Azcuna (Philippines) has been Chancellor of the Philippine Judicial Academy since June 2009. From 2002-2009 he served as an Associate Justice of the Supreme Court of the Philippines.

Professor Miguel Carbonell (Mexico) is a member of the Council of the Human Rights Commission of the Federal District, a columnist in the newspaper “El Mundo” and has taught over 950 courses and conferences in Mexico and other countries.

Justice Yvonne Mokgoro (South Africa) served her full term as a judge of the Constitutional Court of South Afrca, having been appointed to the position in 1994 during the Presidency of Nelson Mandela. She was the first black woman to serve on the bench in South Africa.

Justice Ajit Parakash Shah (India) is currently Chairman of the Law Commission of India. He was Chief Justice of the High Court of Delhi from 2008-2010

In addition to the five new members, three existing Commissioners have also been re-elected for a second term: Justice Moses Chinhengo (Zimbabwe), Professor Michelo Hansungule (Zambia) and Justice Charles Mkandawire (Malawi).

More information about each of the new Commissioners and biographies for all ICJ Commissioners can be found here.

NewsWeb stories