Ten eminent jurists join the ICJ Commission

The ICJ is pleased to announce the election of ten eminent jurists to the ICJ Commission.

Throughout its sixty-year history, the ICJ’s credibility has stemmed from its unique group of eminent jurists and legal experts: the ICJ Commission. ICJ Commissioners provide expert support and strategic direction to the ICJ Secretariat’s regional and thematic programmes.

The following Commissioners have been elected for five-year terms:

Commissioners Elected for First Terms

Prof. Andrew Clapham (UK)

Justice Radmila Dicic (Serbia)

Mr. Shawan Jabarin (Palestine)

Justice Qinisile Mabuza (Swaziland)

Justice Tamara Morschakova (Russian Federation) – from 1st May 2013

Justice Egbert Myjer (Netherlands)

Prof. Victor Rodriguez Rescia (Costa Rica)

Prof. Marco Sassoli (Italy/Switzerland)

Justice Stefan Trechsel (Switzerland)

Prof. Rodrigo Uprimny Yepes (Colombia)

Commissioners Elected for Second Terms

Mr. Roberto Garreton (Chile)

Prof. Robert Goldman (USA)

Commissioners Elected for Third Terms

Justice Ian Binnie (Canada)

Justice Elizabeth Evatt (Australia)

Ms. Karinna Moskalenko (Russian Federation)

Prof. Sir Nigel Rodley (UK)

Mr. Raji Sourani (Palestine)

For further details, including biographies for each of the ICJ’s Commissioners and Honorary Members, please click here .


NewsWeb stories